We are happy to announce prizes and awards for the 33rd edition of ECOOP!

The Junior Prize was awarded to Ilya Sergey for his significant contributions in the development and application of programming language techniques to various problems across the programming spectrum, covering object-oriented , functional, distributed, and concurrent programming, as well as the blockchain and smart contracts.

The Senior Prize was awarded to Laurie Hendren for her continuous and significant contributions for the past 30 years to the field of object-oriented programming languages and compilation. She has developed technologies and tools underlying the implementation of a range of programming languages: accurate and efficient points-to analysis for C, C++ and Java, analysis, compilation and optimizing Java bytecode in her customizable, extensible Java compilation framework, exploring analyses and language extensions for the premier aspect-oriented language AspectJ, and easily extensible compilation for MATLAB and VM tools for scientific and data analytics languages.

Check AITO’s DN Prizes page to find out more!

The Distinguished Paper award goes to:

Fling - A Fluent API Generator
Yossi Gil and Ori Roth

The Distinguished Artifact award goes to:

Godot: All the Benefits of Implicit and Explicit Futures
Kiko Fernandez-Reyes, Einar Broch Johnsen, Dave Clarke, Ludovic Henrio, Tobias Wrigstad

The Test of Time award is for the 1999 paper:

Unifying Genericity - Combining the Benefits of Virtual Types and Parameterized Classes
Kresten Krab Thorup, Mads Torgersen

AITO Dahl-Nygaard Prize Nomination 2020

In 2004, AITO established an annual prize in the name of the Ole-Johan Dahl and Kristen Nygaard to honor their pioneering work. One prize is awarded to a junior researcher (who obtained their PhD degree up to 7 years before the award year), and one prize to a senior researcher. The junior researcher should have made a promising contributions to the field through a paper, a thesis, or a prototype implementation. The senior researcher should have made a significant long-term contributions to the field.

Nominations for the 2020 prize can be made by filling this form.